Mount Allison University, Dept. of Philosophy, one year full time position

Jun 28, 2016 Aug 05, 2016

The Department of Philosophy at Mount Allison University invites applications for a full-time position for the 2016-2017 academic year. Candidates should have a PhD in Philosophy or one nearing completion, and have a commitment to undergraduate teaching and a deep interest in the history of philosophy. The course load for the year is 2/3. Courses to be taught include: a first year introductory course in philosophy called “The Changing Image of Nature” CourseDescription; an introductory course in philosophy of science; a third year course on the Rationalists; a third year course on the Empiricists; and a fourth year seminar ideally on philosophy of science or environmental philosophy.

The appointment will be made at the rank of Lecturer or Assistant Professor and will commence no later than August 1, and end June 30 2017, subject to budgetary approval. Submissions must include a letter of application with curriculum vitae, transcripts, three letters of reference, teaching dossier and a sample of writing. Electronic applications are strongly encouraged and should be sent to Paper submissions should be sent to:
Chair of the Search Committee
Department of Philosophy
Mount Allison University
63D York Street Sackville, NB E4L 1G9
Phone: 506-364-2556 Fax: 506-364-2645

Consideration of applications will begin Monday, July 11, 2016 and will continue until an appointment is made.

Mount Allison University has earned a national reputation for its excellent undergraduate programs. Mount Allison University welcomes diversity in the workplace and encourages applications from all qualified men and women, including aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities. All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadian citizens and permanent residents will be given priority. Canadians and permanent residents should indicate their citizenship status in their application. MountAllsion

Copyright © 2023 Canadian Society for Women in Philosophy