Society for Women in Philosophy, Distinguished Woman Philosopher of 2011, Call for Nominations

Mar 07, 2011 Apr 29, 2011

The Society for Women in Philosophy kindly asks for nominations for the Distinguished Woman Philosopher of 2011.

Each year the Society for Women in Philosophy comes together to honor a woman philosopher whose contributions to the support of women in philosophy and to philosophy itself are outstanding and merit special recognition. A panel and reception celebrating the honoree’s accomplishments will be organized for the Eastern Division meeting of the American Philosophical Association in Washington, D.C., Dec. 27-30, 2011.

Nominees do not need to work or live in the United States to qualify.

Nominations should include: (1) a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, (2) a minimum of two supporting letters, by SWIP members in good standing, which summarize the nominee’s contributions to philosophy and support of women in philosophy. At least two-thirds of letter writers for any nomination must be members of a division of the society for women in philosophy, in good standing. To join or renew membership see links on membership

Please e-mail all nominations to Maeve O’Donovan,
ESWIP Executive Secretary, email: O'Donovan

no later than Thursday, March 31, 2011.

Past Recipients
Sally Haslanger (2010)
Lorraine Code (2009)
Nancy Tuana (2008)
Joan Callahan (2007)
Ruth Millikan (2006)
Linda Martin Alcoff (2005)
Susan Sherwin (2004)
Eva Feder Kittay (2003)
Sara Ruddick (2002)
Amelie O. Rorty (2001)
Marilyn Frye (1999)
Linda Lopez McAlister (1998)
Claudia Card (1997)
Gertrude Ezorsky (1996)
Alison Jaggar (1995)
Iris Marion Young (1994)
Kathryn Pyne Addelson(1993)
Virginia Held (1992)
Jane Roland Martin (1991)
Sandra Harding (1990)
Hazel Barnes (1989)
Leigh Cauman (1988)
Elizabeth Flowers (1987)
Mary Mothersill (1986)
Marjorie Grene (1985)
Elizabeth Beardsley (1984)
(no recipient in 2000)

Copyright © 2024 Canadian Society for Women in Philosophy