Dept. of Philosophy, McMaster University, tenure track, Ancient Philosophy

Oct 21, 2008 Dec 05, 2008

The Department of Philosophy at McMaster University invites applications for a tenure-track position in the area of Ancient Philosophy at the rank of Assistant Professor to commence July 1, 2009. Area of specialization: ancient philosophy; area of competence: theoretical ethics. McMaster University is a research intensive university, and the Department of Philosophy has undergraduate degree programs (Honours, Combined Honours, B.A.), an M.A. program, and a Ph.D. program. The successful candidate will have a Ph.D. by the time of the appointment and demonstrated excellence in teaching and research. Duties will include undergraduate and graduate teaching, the supervision of master's and doctoral theses, and committee responsibilities. The normal teaching load in the Philosophy Department is two courses in each term.
Applicants should send a letter of application, together with a curriculum vitae, a writing sample of no more than 25 pages, and a brief statement of teaching interests and philosophy, including evidence of teaching effectiveness to:
Dr. Elisabeth Gedge, Chair
Department of Philosophy, UH 303
McMaster University,
1280 Main Street West,
Hamilton, Ontario, L8S 4K1.
The due date for applications is November 30, 2008; applications received by this date will be assured of full consideration. Applicants should arrange for three letters of reference to reach the Department by the same date. For information about the Department of Philosophy.
All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadian citizens and permanent residents will be given priority. McMaster University is strongly committed to employment equity within its community, and to recruiting a diverse faculty and staff. The University encourages applications from all qualified candidates, including women, members of visible minorities, Aboriginal peoples, members of sexual minorities and persons with disabilities.

Copyright © 2024 Canadian Society for Women in Philosophy